Falling Dominos and an Army of Schrödinger’s Cats
Phases on the Move: A Quantum Game of Catch
The Power of the Dark Side
Dancing through dynamical phase transitions in an out-of-equilibrium state
Tying Quantum Knots with an Optical Clock
1 of 5

About the Rey Theory Group

Our research interests are in the scientific interface between atomic, molecular and optical physics, condensed matter physics and quantum information science. Specifically, on ways of developing new techniques for controlling quantum systems and then using them in various applications ranging from quantum simulations/information to time and frequency standards. We want to engineer fully controllable quantum systems capable to mimic desired real materials as well as to develop advanced and novel measurement techniques capable of probing atomic quantum systems at the fundamental level.

Recent News

From: CU on the Air Podcast This month on CU on the Air we welcomed CU Boulder Professor Ana Maria Rey, a theoretical physicist and fellow at JILA. Professor Rey has earned multiple awards for her groundbreaking research, including the coveted MacArthur Genius Fellowship and the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers. She earned the Alexander Cruickshank Award in 2017 and 2019, and became the first Hispanic woman to win the Blavatnik Award for Young Scientists. Professor Rey studies the interface between atomic, molecular and optical physics, condensed matter physics, and quantum informational science. Read the entire article and listen to the podcast, here...
The Blavatnik Family Foundation and the New York Academy of Sciences named theoretical physicist and JILA Fellow Ana Maria Rey one of three Laureates for the Blavatnik National Awards for Young Scientists. Each year these awards honor three scientists in life sciences, physical sciences and engineering, and chemistry. The other caveat: all laureates are 42 years old or younger. “We like to think of them as our young Nobels,” Brooke Grindlinger, chief scientific officer of scientific programs and Blavatnik Awards at the academy told the Boulder Daily Camera.  Nominated by 169 research institutions from across 44 states, the Blavatnik...
JILA is a place for young scientists on the rise. This week, one of those bright young minds has been recognized for her achievements. On Wednesday, JILA Fellow Ana Maria Rey was named as a finalist for the Blavatnik Awards for Young Scientists. The Blavatnik Awards were created in 2007 by the Blavatnik Family Foundation and the New York Academy of Sciences. This year, 31 scientists will compete for a Blavatnik National Laureate Award in three categories: chemistry, physical sciences and engineering, and life sciences. These awards are only for scientists age 42 and younger.  “The goal of the Awards is to help solve the world’s greatest scientific and technological challenges by...
Ana Maria Rey has been appointed a NIST Fellow as of August 21,2017 by the Acting Director of NIST. JILA is a research and training partnership between the University of Colorado and NIST, and Ana Maria is one of the several JILA Fellows who are NIST employees. Ana Maria was named a NIST Fellow in recognition of her world-leading program in quantum theory, her pioneering work in quantum many-body physics, and her continuing powerful collaborations with experimentalists at JILA, at NIST, and across the world. NIST Fellow is the highest scientific position at NIST, and is limited to no more than 40 of the more than 1,800 scientific employees across the organization who demonstrate unique...
Ana Maria Rey has been named the winner of the 2017 Alexander Cruickshank Award in Atomic Physics. The award recognizes international leadership and impact in the organization’s main areas of biological, chemical, and physical sciences. It was presented to Rey by the Gordon Research Conferences. Past winners in the physics category have included Nobel Laureates Eric Cornell of JILA and Dave Wineland of NIST Boulder. Other past winners with ties to JILA include Immanuel Block (Ludwig-Maximilians University and Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics), Mikhail Lukin (Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics and Harvard University), and 1997 Nobel Laureate Claude Cohen-Tannoudji (University of...