April 30, 2024: JILA Fellow and Astrophysical and Planetary Sciences Professor Mitch Begelman is Elected to the National Academy of Sciences
Mitchell Begelman

JILA is thrilled to announce that Dr. Mitch Begelman, a JILA Fellow and esteemed professor in the Department of Astrophysical and Planetary Sciences at the University of Colorado Boulder, has been elected as a member of the National Academy of Sciences. This prestigious honor is bestowed in recognition of his distinguished and ongoing contributions to original research in astrophysics.

August 03, 2022: Humans of JILA: Hannalore Gerling-Dunsmore
Hannalore Gerling-Dunsmore, a graduate student in JILA Fellow Mitch Begelman's group, discusses her work

Many researchers at JILA feel honored to work with several big-name scientists within a specialized field of physics. One of these is graduate student Hannalore Gerling-Dunsmore, who is mentored by JILA Fellow Mitch Begelman and Fellow Adjoint Phil Armitage. Studying with these two well-known physicists, Gerling-Dunsmore's work focuses on accretion disk survival, or the conditions needed for the accretion disks of the supermassive black holes at the centers of galaxies      to survive gravitational instability. Her research, along with the support of her advisors, has helped award Gerling-Dunsmore with a prestigious pre-doctoral fellowship at the Center for Computational Astrophysics (CCA). This fellowship is sponsored by the Simons Foundation in New York City. According to Gerling-Dunsmore, the Simons foundation funds: "science that is especially computational in nature and often does not      get a lot of funding from the U.S. government." This funding allows researchers like Gerling-Dunsmore to further explore their interests while learning new research skills. 

December 09, 2020: Mitch Begelman named CU Distinguished Professor
Mitchell Begelman

Mitch Begelman becomes the 5th JILA Fellow to be named a Distinguished Professor named CU Distinguished Professor.

May 31, 2017: Eric Coughlin Wins 2016 IAU Thesis Prize
Eric Coughlin photo.

Eric Coughln has been named winner of the 2016 Ph.D. Thesis Prize from the High Energy Phenomena and Fundamental Physics Division of the International Astronomical Union. He will receive the prize at the next IAU General Assemply, which will be held in Vienna in August 2018. Coughlin is also winner of the 2017 Dissertation Prize from the High Energy Astrophysics Division of the American Astronomical Society. 

August 04, 2016: Eric Coughlin Wins 2016 R. N. Thomas Award
Eric Coughlin photo.

Eric Coughlin has won the 2016 R. N. Thomas Award. The $1000 award comes from a fund established by Dr. Nora Andreasian, the widow of JILA co-founder Dick Thomas. Coughlin will also receive a book about Thomas’ storied career in astrophysics.