Weichman wins Thesis Award

Marissa Weichman, a postdoc in the Ye group, has won the 2018 Justin Jankunas Doctoral Dissertation Award in Chemical Physics.

The award recognizes Weichman’s dissertation study of slow photoelectron velocity-map imaging of cryo-cooled anions. This spectroscopy technique can be used to study the detailed vibrational and electronic structure of exotic neutral species, including radicals, clusters, and transition states of reactive surfaces. Weichman completed her dissertation in the group of Dan Neumark at the University of California, Berkeley.

The Division of Chemical Physics (DCP) of the American Physical Society established the dissertation award in 2015 to recognize the best doctoral dissertation in any area of chemical physics. The award was renamed by friends, family, and colleagues of Justin Jankunas, to honor Jankunas’ memory and work as a promising young chemical physicist.

As the 2018 recipient, Weichman will present a talk on her thesis, “Slow Photoelectron Velocity-Map Imaging and Infrared Photodissociation Spectroscopy of Cryo-Cooled Molecular and Cluster Ions,” in the DCP Prize Session at the APS March Meeting.

We invite you to join us in congratulating Weichmann at the March Meeting, which will take place in Los Angeles on March 5-9, 2018.

The previous winner, Yuval Shagam, is also a JILA postdoc. Shagam wrote his thesis, “Cold Chemistry with Cold Molecules,” under the direction of Prof. Ed Narevicius at the Weizmann Institute of Science, but now works in the group of Eric Cornell and Jun Ye.