News & Highlights

Jun Ye to Lead New $25 Million Quantum Science and Engineering Institute

Published: July 21, 2020 - 11:15am

Today, the National Science Foundation announced that the University of Colorado Boulder will receive a $25 million award to launch a new quantum science and engineering research center.

The new center will be led by physicist Jun Ye and is a partnership with 11 other research organizations in the United States and abroad. Together, these pioneers will explore several "grand challenges... read more -->

The Sisyphean Task of Cooling Molecules

Published: June 3, 2020 - 9:00am

If you want to control the quantum world, it helps to make things really cold—like a few millionths of a degree above absolute zero. When atoms reach those ultracold temperatures, they slow down and scientists can better probe them and study their interactions.

Ultracold atoms have been well-... read more -->

Dr. Christian Sanner awarded the 2020 Helmholtz Prize for precision measurement in fundamental research

Published: April 22, 2020 - 4:15pm

Congratulations to Dr. Christian Sanner (PTB, current research associate in Ye group, JILA) for receiving the Helmholtz Prize for outstanding scientific and technological research in the field of precision measurement in physics, chemistry and medicine in the categories of fundemental research and applied metrology.  The Helmholtz Prize is considered one of the world's most prominent... read more -->

Rudolf Kaiser Prize for Tim Langen

Published: February 20, 2020 - 12:45pm

Dr. Tim Langen, former Ye postdoc and current research group leader at the University of Stuttgart (since 2017), has been awarded the Rudolf Kaiser Prize 2019.  The prize is among the most prestigious... read more -->

JILA team demonstrates model system for distribution of more accurate time signals

Published: October 21, 2019 - 10:45am

JILA physicists and collaborators have demonstrated the first next-generation "time scale" - a system that incorporates data from multiple atomic clocks to produce a single highly accurate timekeeping signal for distribution. The... read more -->

Former JILA research associate wins 2019 Packard Fellowship

Published: October 15, 2019 - 11:30am

Today, the David and Lucile Packard Foundation ... read more -->

Keep it steady

Published: July 29, 2019 - 3:30pm

Using a silicon silencer, the Ye Group has reached record stability for optical atomic clocks

Imagine trying to read a clock with hands that wobble. The worse the wobble, the more difficult it is to accurately read the time.

Optical atomic clocks have the same problem. An optical atomic clock uses a laser to measure the... read more -->

JILA postdoctoral researcher Marissa Weichman wins poster prize

Published: July 22, 2019 - 2:00pm

NIST National Research Council postdoctoral fellow Dr. Marissa Weichman recently won the poster prize at the Dynamics of Molecular Collisions conference in Big Sky, Montana. 

Weichman works with buckyballs, "molecular soccer balls" made up of 60 carbon atoms. They're huge, for a... read more -->

Buckyballs Play by Quantum Rules

Published: February 22, 2019 - 9:30am

A water molecule has three atoms—two hydrogens and one oxygen. But stack three water molecules side by side and you’ve got the width of a buckyball, a complex molecule of 60 carbon atoms. Medium in size and large in atom count, the buckyball has long challenged the idea that only small molecules can play by quantum rules.

And last month we learned that the buckyball plays by full... read more -->

Anna McAuliffe wins APS CUWiP Poster Award

Published: January 28, 2019 - 12:15pm

CU Boulder student and JILA undergraduate researcher Anna McAuliffe won the poster competition at the 2019 Conference for Undergraduate Women in Physics held at Utah State University.

McAuliffe’s poster detailed the build and installation of a cryogenic hexapole designed to mitigate clog issues in an OH decelerator. This work was the... read more -->

The First Quantum Degenerate Polar Molecules

Published: January 18, 2019 - 3:15pm

JILA researchers have created the first quantum degenerate gas of polar molecules. This new form of matter has been a decade-long goal of molecular chemistry. This achievement will allow researchers to better understand the role of quantum physics in chemical reactions, and could make molecules a potential candidate for quantum information storage or precision... read more -->

Jun Ye awarded APS Ramsey Prize

Published: October 23, 2018 - 1:15pm

Today the American Physical Society announced JILA Fellow Jun Ye as the recipeient of the 2019 Norman F. Ramsey Prize in Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics, and in Precision Tests of Fundamental Laws and Symmetries. Ye was recognized for his ground-breaking contributions to precision measurements and the quantum control of... read more -->

Sara Campbell HHMI Fellow

Published: September 12, 2018 - 2:45pm

Recent JILA graduate Dr. Sara Campbell was announced to be a 2018 HHMI Hanna Gray Fellows this morning.

The Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HMMI) announced their selection of 15 early career scientists as the 2018 HHMI Hanna Gray Fellows on 12 September 2018. The fellowship, named for Hanna Holborn Gray, the former chair of the HHMI trustees and former president of the University of... read more -->

Jake Covey's thesis published as a Springer Thesis

Published: September 6, 2018 - 2:15pm

Congratulations to Jake Covey for having his thesis published as a Springer Thesis, recognizing outstanding PhD research!  Internationally top-ranked research institutes select their best thesis annually for publication in this series.  Nominated and endorsed by two recognized specialists, each thesis is chosen for its scientific excellence and impact on research.  The published... read more -->

Turn it Up to 11 – The XUV Comb

Published: September 4, 2018 - 2:15pm

With the advent of the laser, the fuzzy bands glowing from atoms transformed into narrow lines of distinct color. These spectral lines became guiding beacons visible from the quantum frontier.

More than a half century later, we stand at the next frontier. The elegant physics that will decode today’s mysteries (such as dark matter, dark energy, and the stability of our fundamental... read more -->

Same Clock. New Perspective.

Published: March 15, 2018 - 3:15pm

We all know what a tenth of a second feels like. It’s a jiffy, a snap of the fingers, or a camera shutter click. But what does 14 billion years, which is the age of the universe, feel like?

JILA’s atomic clock has the precision to measure the age of the universe to within a tenth of a second. That sort of precision is difficult to intuit. Yet JILA’s atomic clock, which is the most... read more -->

Ye wins 2018 Rabi Award for research on optical lattice atomic clocks

Published: February 22, 2018 - 2:15pm

JILA Fellow Jun Ye was named the 2018 winner of the I. I. Rabi Award by the IEEE Frequency Control Symposium. Ye was recognized “for the development of stabile, reproducible, and accurate atomic clocks based on optical lattices, and the use of those clocks to probe fundamental atomic interactions and quantum many-body systems.”

The award recognizes Ye’s sustained leadership in... read more -->

The Energetic Adolescence of Carbon Dioxide

Published: January 12, 2018 - 4:15pm

The reaction, at first glance, seems simple. Combustion engines, such as those in your car, form carbon monoxide (CO). Sunlight converts atmospheric water into a highly reactive hydroxyl radical (OH). And when CO and OH meet, one byproduct is carbon dioxide (CO2) ­– a main contributor to air pollution and climate change.

But it’s more complicated than that. Before CO2... read more -->