Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube

Kapteyn, Murnane Awarded Schawlow Prize

Published: 01-13-2010
Source: JILA Scientific Communications

Margaret Murnane and Henry Kapteyn.

Henry Kapteyn and Margaret Murnane won the 2010 Arthur L. Schawlow Prize in Laser Science for their pioneering work in the area of the ultrafast laser science,including development of ultrafast optical and coherent soft x-ray sources. The prize consists of $10,000, plus an allowance for travel to the meeting at which the prize is awarded. Kapteyn and Murnane also received  a certificate citing their contributions to basic research that uses lasers to advance our knowledge of the fundamental properties of materials and their interaction with light.

Related Entities: 

  • PFC