W. Carl Lineberger


BEE, Georgia Institute of Technology , 1961
MSEE, Georgia Institute of Technology, 1963
Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology, 1965
   Advisors: E. W. McDaniel and J. W. Hooper
Postdoctoral: JILA, University of Colorado, 1968-1970
   Advisor: L. M. Branscomb (1968)


Member, National Science Board, 2011-2016
National Science Board Executive Committee, 2012-2013
Member, National Research Council Laboratory Assessments Board, 2013-present
Fellow of JILA, 1971-present
E. U. Condon Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, University of Colorado, 1985-present
Advisory Editorial Board, Chemical Physics Letters, 1982-present

Prior Appointments:
Assistant Professor Electrical Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology, 1965
Research Physicist and military service, U. S. Army Ballistic Research Laboratory, Aberdeen Proving Ground, MD, 1965-68
Research Associate, Joint Institute for Laboratory Astrophysics, 1968-70
Member, Joint Institute for Laboratory Astrophysics, 1970-71
Assistant Professor, Chemistry, University of Colorado, 1970-72
Associate Professor, Chemistry, University of Colorado, 1972-74
Professor, Chemistry, University of Colorado, 1974-85
Visiting Professor, Stanford University, 1982
Visiting Professor, University of Chicago, 1982
Chair, Joint Institute for Laboratory Astrophysics, 1985-86


National Academy of Sciences, 1983
American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 1995
Fellow, American Physical Society
Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science
American Chemical Society


Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow, 1972-75
Camille and Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar, 1975-80
Faculty Fellow, University of Colorado, 1975-76, 1981-82, 1984
Herbert P. Broida Prize in Atomic and Molecular Spectroscopy or Chemical Physics, American Physical Society, 1981
J. S. Guggenheim Fellow, 1981-82
University of Colorado Faculty Research Lecturer, 1982
Bomem-Michelson Prize, 1987
William F. Meggers Prize, Optical Society of America, 1988
American Physical Society Earle K. Plyler Prize, 1992
American Chemical Society Irving Langmuir Prize in Chemical Physics, 1995
American Chemical Society Peter Debye Award in Physical Chemistry, 2004
Swiss Chemical Society, First National Lecturer (a new program), 2013
Herschbach Medal, Dynamics of Molecular Collisions Conference, award announced, but to be presented in 2015

Professional Service

Member, National Science Board, 2011-16. US Senate confirmation, August, 2011
Member, Executive Committee, National Science Board
Chair, Subcommittee of Facilities, National Science Board
Member, National Research Council Laboratory Assessments Board, 2013-present
Member, Ethics Advisory Committee, National Academy of Engineering
Member, NRC Committee on Responsible Science

Selected Prior Service Activity:
Member, National Academy of Sciences Committee on Science, Engineering and Public
   Policy, 2003-2009
National Science Foundation Waterman Prize Selection Committee, 2006-2009
Councilor, American Association for Advancement of Science, 2007-2010
Chair, Search Committee for Editor of Journal of Chemical Physics, 2008
Member, Governing Board, National Research Council,1996-2000, 2003-2007.
Chair, National Science Foundation Directorate for Mathematical and Physical Sciences Advisory Committee, 2003-2006
Member, Council of the National Academy of Sciences, 2003-2006
Chair, American Physical Society Prize and Awards Committee 2002-2004
Foreign Councilor, Institute of Molecular Sciences, Okazaki National Research Institutes,
Okazaki, Japan, 2001-2003
Member, Council of the American Physical Society, 1999-2003
Co-Chair, Commission on Physical Sciences, Mathematics and Applications, National Research Council, 1996-2000
Member, Task Force on Reorganization of National Research Council, 1999-2000
Chair, NSF Science and Technology Centers Advisory Committee, 1987-1991,1996
Member, Physics Policy Committee, American Physical Society, 1995-1998
Chair, Topical Group on Laser Science, American Physical Society, 1994-1995
Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee, Department of Energy, 1991-1996; Chair, 1993-1996
Chair, Division of Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics, American Physical Society, 1987
Chair, Division of Chemical Physics, American Physical Society, 1982-83

Recent Lectureships

Richard Lord Lecturer, MIT, April, 1996
Centennial Lecturer, University of Texas at Austin, 1997
Stauffer Distinguished Lecturer in Chemistry, University of Southern California, 1997
Sierra Nevada Distinguished Chemist, American Chemical Society, 1997
C. R. Mueller Lecturer, Purdue University, 1998
Moses Gomberg Lecturer, University of Michigan, March, 1999
Frontiers of Science Lecturer, Texas A & M, April, 1999
Gordon Lecturer, University of Toronto, May, 1999
Baker Series Lectures, Cornell University, 1999
E. W. McDaniel Memorial Lecture, Georgia Institute of Technology, 1999
Mary Kapp Lecturer, Virginia Commonwealth University, March 2000
Hyp Dauben Lecturer, University of Washington, May 2000
W. L. Evans Lecturer, Ohio State University, October, 2001
G. L. Closs Lecturer, University of Chicago, 2003
W. A. Noyes Distinguished Lecturer, University of Texas at Austin, 2004
R. S. Berry Lecturer, "Lasers: The Light Fantastic," Telluride Town Extravaganza, Pinhead Institute, 2005
Lyle Ramsay Dawson Lecturer, University of Kentucky, 2005
Robert Hansen Lecturer, Iowa State University, 2005
Fredrick Kauffman Lecturer, University of Pittsburgh, 2006
John Stauffer Lecturer, Stanford University, 2008
Inaugural Frontiers in Chemical Physics & Analysis Lecture, Pacific Northwest Laboratory, 2009
Kent Wilson Lecture, University of California, San Diego, May 2010
Robert S. Mulliken Lecture, University of Georgia, September, 2010
John Howard Appleton Lectures, Brown University, October, 2010
John E. Willard Lecturer, University of Wisconsin, Madison, 2011
Lyman Parratt Lecture, Department of Physics, Cornell University, 2012
Eyring Lectures in Chemistry and Biochemistry, Arizona State University, 2012
Swiss Chemical Society National Lecturer, 2013
Arnold C. Ott Lectureship, Grand Valley State University, 2013
Barton-Karcher Lectureship, University of Oklahoma, 2013

W. Carl Lineberger photo.
303-492-7834 (office)
303-492-8994 (fax)