Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube

Faculty Awards

Each year, JILA faculty receive important recognition for their work. For instance, the Faculty includes three Nobel Laureates and two MacArthur Fellows. Following is a list of selected awards. Is something missing? Let us know at communications@jila.colorado.edu.

AAAS Fellows

AAAS Newcomb-Cleveland Prize

ACS Ahmed Zewail Award in Ultrafast Science and Technology

ACS Irving Langmuir Prize in Chemical Physics

ACS Peter Debye Award

Air Force Office of Scientific Research Young Investigator Award

Alexander von Humbolt Research Award

Jun Ye 2007
John Hall 1998

Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow

American Academy of Arts and Sciences

American Philosophical Society Fellow

APS Arthur Schawlow Prize

John Hall 1993

APS Davisson-Germer Prize

John Hall 1988

APS Earle Plyler Prize

APS Fellows

Jun Ye 2004
John Bohn 2003
John Hall 1973

APS Herbert P. Broida Prize

APS I. I. Rabi Prize

Jun Ye 2007

APS Joseph F. Keithley Award

APS Maria Goeppert Mayer Award

APS Nominating Committee

APS Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Research in AMO Physics Award (DAMOP)

APS Outstanding Referee

APS Will Allis Prize

Art Phelps 1990

APS Woman Physicist of the Month

Arthur S. Flemming Award

Jun Ye 2005

Association for Women in Science Fellows

Benjamin Franklin Medal in Physics

Bonfils-Stanton Foundation Prize

Boulder Faculty Assembly Excellence in Service

Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation Award

Carl Zeiss Award

Jun Ye 2007

Chancellor's Award for Excellence in STEM Education

Clare Booth Luce Professorship Award

CO-LABS Governor's Award for High Impact Research

Colorado ARCS Foundation Honoree of the Year

John Hall 2007 - 2008

Comstock Prize in Physics

Cottrell Scholars Award

Dannie Heineman Prize for Astrophysics

David and Lucille Packard Fellowship for Science and Engineering

Department of Commerce Bronze Medal

Department of Commerce Gold Medal

John Hall 2002
Jun Ye 2001
Jim Faller 1990
John Hall 1974
John Hall 1969

Department of Commerce Silver Medal

Dudley Herschbach Prize for Experiment

E. U. Condon Award

John Hall 1979

European Time and Frequency Forum Award

Jun Ye 2009

Frew Fellowship

Fritz London Prize in Low Temperature Physics

Great Minds in STEM, Hispanic Engineer National Achievement Award

Guggenheim Fellows

Hazel Barnes Prize

Hertz Foundation Fellow

Honorary Degrees

IEEE Fellow

IEEE Ultrasonics, Ferroelectrics, and Frequency Control Society Rabi Award

John Hall 2004

Ioannes Marcus Marci Medal for Molecular Spectroscopy

Isaac Newton Medal

King Faisal International Prize for Science

L'Oreal-UNESCO For Women in Science Award

LEOS Graduate Student Fellowship

Lorentz Medal

MacArthur Fellows

Moore Experimental Investigator in Quantum Materials Award

Most Influential Scientific Minds 2014 (Thomson Reuters)

NASA Group Achievement Award

National Academy of Education

National Academy of Sciences

John Hall 1984

National Professor of the Year

National Science Board

National Security Science and Engineering Faculty Fellows

NIST Samuel W. Stratton Award

Jun Ye 2006
John Hall 1971

Nobel Prize in Physics

John Hall 2005

NSF Alan T. Waterman Award

NSF Career Award

NSF Presidential Young Investigator Award

Oersted Medal

ONR Young Investigator Grant

OSA Adolph Lomb Medal

Jun Ye 1999

OSA Fellows

Jun Ye 2005

OSA Frederic Ives Medal

John Hall 1991

OSA Honorary Member

John Hall 2007

OSA Max Born Award

John Hall 2002

OSA R. W. Wood Prize

OSA William F. Meggers Award

Jun Ye 2006

Pacesetter Award

Presidential Early Career Award in Science and Engineering

Jun Ye 2003

Presidential Rank Award

John Hall 2002

Presidential Young Investigator Award

RDS Irish Times Boyle Medal

Royal Irish Academy

Royal Society of Chemists Fellows

Sigma Xi William Proctor Prize


Sloan Research Fellowship

Jim Faller 1972

Technology Review Magazine's TR100 Young Innovator

Jun Ye 2002

University of Colorado Faculty Fellowships

Phil Armitage 2009 - 2010
W. Carl Lineberger 2007 - 2008
Mitch Begelman 2005 - 2006
Carl Wieman 1990 - 1991

University of Colorado Junior Faculty Development Award

University of Colorado Professors of Distinction

University of Colorado Provost's Faculty Achievement Award

University of Colorado Technology Transfer Award

Visiting Miller Professorship at the University of California, Berkeley